Science Fiction Horror

Although they’re 98% science fiction adventures, I’ve realised that the Adventures of
Haldan Thane also sometimes cross into science fiction horror, or sci-fi gore.  For those of you who’ve read any of them, you’ll know what I mean; that, in some scenes, it gets a bit graphic, which is probably why one reviewer said they’d love to see them in graphic novel form.

I’ve found an interesting list of science fiction horror films at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_science_fiction_horror_films, and there are some movies I’ve enjoyed listed, such as the Alien series, the Body Snatchers series, the classic Creature from the Black Lagoon, Frankenstein, The Fly, X-Files, Predator and the terrifying I am Legend.  Probably the closest in tone (that I’ve seen) is Saturn 3 (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0079285/ and the full film at5cb288dcc147a7f866602432a5204f03
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omsdQ0hPRY8 although I had to decrease playback speed to 0.75), which I saw on cable TV at my uncle’s house years ago.  It had Farrah Fawcett in it and I had a big crush on her.  Just add a bit more humour, aliens, spaceships and laser guns and it’s getting really close to HT.

Why did I include these scenes in the adventures?  It’s a hard question to answer, but I can tell you that it just felt right, that I wanted to show that there are dangers in space and horrible things can happen to you, especially when there are aliens around that are very different from humans.  It’s fantasy instead of sci-fi, but the film The Dark Crystal is like this too.  In the documentary series, The World of Jim Henson, author and illustrator Maurice Sendak, described how that for Henson, ‘there was a darker, cavernous place he was busting to get to’ (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEWB0zuZvlI&t=3822s; at about 57:13).

UPDATE 10 July 2017:  Bad news:  The above Youtube video has been blocked due to copyright violations.

 

Leave a Reply

